Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton Are 2017's Most Buzzed-About Designers on Instagram

Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton Are 2017's Most Buzzed-About Designers on Instagram

Maria Grazia Chiuri's first Dior collection debuted for Spring/Summer 2017 | Source: InDigital

SAN FRANCISCO, United States — Dior, Hermès and Louis Vuitton are Instagram’s most buzzed-about fashion brands of 2017, according to new data released today by the photo and video sharing app. The brands were named in Instagram’s Year in Review global data package, revealing the most popular fashion labels and models as measured by followers, engagement and buzz.

Dior was the most buzzed-about designer label this year, based on data derived from number of mentions and comments. It’s perhaps no surprise the French couture brand won the top position: the brand's famous “We should all be feminists” t-shirt — which first conveyed the activism-tinged, Millennial-friendly approach Chiuri has brought to Dior since taking the creatives reins at the storied French luxury house in July 2016 — attracted huge attention across social media in a year that saw women’s rights protests all over the world and an avalanche of sexual abuse scandals. The social media-savvy "J'adior" branding, introduced by Chiuri across accessories including the slingback kitten heels and the flap bag, also struck a chord on Instagram.

Brands that gained the most <a href=Instagram followers" width="500" height="668">

Brands that gained the most Instagram followers | Illustration by Nerea Verdejo Blanco for BoF

Just behind fashion juggernaut Gucci's Alessandro Michele, Fenty Puma by Rihanna top the second-place spot for most engaged followers, based on a winning ratio between interactions — measured as likes and comments — and the brand’s follower count. Rihanna was recently named the most influential celebrity by fashion search platform Lyst. And such is the power of her influence that emerging label Molly Goddard — often worn by Rihanna — made the list in sixth place. Goddard was the only emerging designer to be included across all categories.

Supreme made 'Year in Review' in two categories, taking ninth place in the rankings for most engaged followers and sixth place in the rankings for most new followers this year (4.8 million, bringing its total follower count to 8 million). It’s been a newsworthy year for the New York-based streetwear label, which released a major collaboration with Louis Vuitton, attracting waves of consumer excitement as well as charges from longtime fans that the company had sold out, and raised investment from the private equity giant the Carlyle Group.

Victoria Beckham took the top spot across multiple categories, including most views on Instagram Stories and most-liked single photo (which, incidentally was nothing to do with her fashion line; instead, it was a picture of Beckham's husband David on his birthday in May, which gained over 1.1 million likes and generated thousands of comments). Victoria Beckham was also ranked amongst the top 10 brands that gained the most followers this year — 5.7 million — putting her in fourth position on the ranking of most followed designer with a total of 17.2 million followers. Beckham ranks behind Chanel (25 million followers), Louis Vuitton (19.2 million followers) and Gucci (17.8 million).

Instagram's 'Year in Review' also rounded up the most influential models of 2017. Kendall Jenner, who recently took Gisele’s crown as the highest paid model, hit the top spot across multiple rankings. Jenner was the most followed model (85 million followers), the most buzzed-about model of the year and published the most-liked model photo of 2017 with a picture of herself in a crop top and gingham bikini, with a pizza emoji caption that gained 4.5 million likes.

Instagram's Year in Fashion 2017

Top 10 most followed designers
Chanel (@chanelofficial) 25M followers
Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton) 19.2M+ followers
Gucci (@gucci) 17.8M+ followers
Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) 17.2M+ followers
Dior (@dior) 17.2M+ followers
Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana) 15M+ followers
Prada (@prada) 13.5M+ followers
Michael Kors (@michaelkors) 10.6M+ followers
Calvin Klein (@calvinklein) 10.2M+ followers
Versace (@versace_official) 10.2M+ followers

Top 10 designers with the most engaged followers in 2017
1. Alessandro Michele (@lallo25)
2. Fenty Puma by Rihanna (@fentyxpuma)
3. Haider Ackermann (@h.a)
4. Diane von Furstenberg (@therealdvf)
5. LaQuan Smith (@laquan_smith)
6. Molly Goddard (@mollymgoddard)
7. John Galliano (@jgalliano)
8. Iris van Herpen (@irisvanherpen)
9. Supreme (@supremeny)
10. Virgil Abloh (@virgilabloh)

Most buzzed-about designers of 2017
1. Dior (@dior)
2. Hermès (@hermes)
3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)
4. Saint Laurent (@ysl)
5. Topshop (@topshop)
6. Balenciaga (@balenciaga)
7. Burberry (@burberry)
8. Balmain (@balmain)
9. Chloé (@chloe)
10. Ralph Lauren (@ralphlauren)

Top 10 designers who gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017
1. Chanel (@chanelofficial): Gained 9.6 million followers
2. Gucci (@gucci): Gained 8.1 million followers
3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton): Gained 7 million followers
4. Dior (@dior): Gained 5.9 million followers
5. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham): Gained 5.7 million followers
6. Supreme (@supremeny): Gained 4.8 million followers
7. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana): Gained 4.5 million followers
8. Prada (@prada): Gained 4.3 million followers
9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein): Gained 3.9 million followers
10. Versace (@versace_official) Gained 3.5 million followers

Designers who garnered the most Stories views
1. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham)
2. Dior (@dior)
3. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana)
4. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)
5. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein)
6. Gucci (@gucci)
7. Tommy Hilfiger (@tommyhilfiger)
8. Versace (@versace_official)
9. Chanel (@chanelofficial)
10. Fendi (@fendi)

Most buzzed-about models of the year 
1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner)
2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)
3. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele)
4. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)
5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)
6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)
7. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima)
8. Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin)
9. Josephine Skriver (@josephineskriver)
10. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)

Related Articles:

Dior And Louis Vuitton Are The Most Engaged Brands On Instagram Stories

Making Sense of The Dior Gap

Instagram’s Eva Chen: ‘It’s Not a Numbers Game’

For Young Brands, Is The Instagram Opportunity Shrinking

Source : https://www.businessoffashion.com/articles/news-bites/dior-hermes-and-louis-vuitton-are-2017s-most-buzzed-about-designers-on-instagram

Related Posts